Before we run out of time

Time

I just went to the Memorial for a dancer that passed away last week of a stroke.  I had seen her on Sunday.  She was happy.  She was getting her pain managed.  She was looking forward to being able to dance again.  She had been alone for 10 years and had just remarried.  Her life was looking up……but she was gone on Tuesday.

I was forcefully reminded of 2 things. 1) You never know when your time will be up.  And 2) You never know when someone else’s time will be up.

In the months that I had known her, I had talked to her about improving her health only one time.  As a health coach, that is not a good track record.  Why had I not spoken up?  Why did I leave her unsupported or uninformed about her options?  If I had been a little more bold, could I have helped her dance with us for a few more years? In this case I will never know. And it saddens me greatly. We have lost a friend and a square dancer….neither can be replaced.

So, that leaves me with this question.  What am I going to do with my time……before my friends or I run out of it?

Leave a comment